The Dead are Coming

This post has nothing to do with travelling and whatnot. It’s more of a rant really but I need to get this off my chest.

I love, love, love Game of Thrones (I’m disregarding Season 5 except for Hardhome). I love every part of it, except for one, Daenarys Targaryen’s storyline. I started to hate her during book 1 and I thought the hatred could go away after a while, but the feeling intensified instead. I’d rather watch 1,000 hours of Ramsay Bolton being cruel instead of 1 second of Daenarys’ cringey scenes. And oh God that last speech was cringey as hell. It’s like she has to bring up her own hype because she’s so boring.

What makes me madder is that despite her long-ass name and her whole dragon-owner, unburnt, first of the name trope, her claim to the throne is the most filmsy one as compared to others. Not only has she mentioned at least 12,345 times that she “will claim what’s hers” during the 6.6 seasons so far, she also took up the most epic ending spots  when there were so much better endings. Her whole schtick this season  is a rinse-and-repeat of what we have seen in Season 1 and 2. I hate her so much that I will think if she died (she won’t die until the end of the series) in the next episode, my only reaction would be “good riddance”.

But her existence is not her worst sin though. She’s so fucking boring that she managed to make Tyrion and Varys (2 of my favourite characters) look boring too and I can’t forgive her for that.

Lol yes I need to have a life. Been arguing about this with strangers on the internet too.

Leave a Reply

