A Streetcar Named Desire

754f3385f482c4b717c78261af3bab13It took me 2 days to finish watching this movie (in between of several starts of other shows of which I couldn’t get into) and I need an outlet where I can say these things:-

  • Vivien Leigh and Marlon Brando
    • The only other movie of hers that I’ve watched is Gone with the Wind. I remember thinking that I liked it, although I thought she tended to over-act and forced her, I don’t know, emotions and such. And A Streetcar Named Desire reinforces that belief.
    • When I watched Gone with the Wind, I truly thought she was one of the best-looking women I’ve ever seen (that spot was recently taken by Caitriona Balfe and my new bae, Naomi Nagata from The Expanse). She looked rough in here, but after reading more about the movie, I think that she was supposed to give an illusion of rough. And she was skinny, like unhealthy skinny.
    • I read more about all the cast of the movie, and man, Vivien Leigh and Marlon Brando were truly something else. Vivien Leigh struggled with bipolar disorder and acute tuberculosis and she didn’t die pretty. Marlon Brando became lazy and fat and difficult and he also didn’t die pretty.
    • Marlon Brando was really sexy. I get it now, old people, I get it.

streetcar2a-streetcar-named-desire-marlon-brando-30585947-768-576

  • I read that Vivien Leigh was fluent in French and Italian so I paid extra attention whenever Blanche Dubois spoke in those 2 languages. Gave me a shock when she pronounced “turquoise” as “tɜːrkwɔɪz” and not the usual “tɜːrkɔɪz“. I googled and found out that both are correct. Gonna start using  “tɜːrkwɔɪz” now though because I’m eleganté like that.
  • I think that if I were to be born 60 years earlier I would have understood more of what they were talking about during some scenes like that scene where it was implied that Stanley raped Blanche. Thank Allah, Jesus, Buddha and Lord Krishna for Google. I know that we as a society have come so far from in the 1950s, but I didn’t realise how far. The words “rape” and “abuse” and “sex” are so common now that I didn’t know the desciptions of those acts had to be implied back then.
  • I can understand why this movie was considered revolutionary at that time. It touched and discussed quite a few taboo subjects.
  • Like I said earlier, I read a lot about the cast of the movie, and man, those gossips were enjoyable.

 

Leave a Reply

